Sun Microsystems wins the National Finals of ‘Tata Crucible -The Business Quiz 2008’
Mitesh Agarwal and Vishwajeeth P. Narvekar from Sun Microsystems were awarded the National Champions trophy and a cash prize of Rs. 4 Lakhs

Mumbai, October 3, 2008: The Tata Crucible National Final saw the team of Mitesh Agarwal and Vishwajeeth P. Narvekar from Sun Microsystems emerge victorious in a nail biting finale. The National Final was held on Thursday, October 2, 2008 at the Taj Mahal Palace & Towers, Mumbai. The Chief Guest Dr. R. A. Mashelkar, FRS, President-Global Research Alliance & Bhatnagar Fellow, National Chemical Laboratory, handed over the trophy and cash prize of Rs. 4 Lakhs to the winning team, along with a host of attractive prizes. The team of Rajendra Prabhu and G. Swaminathan from Citibank, Chennai were the Runners-up.

The quiz featured five rounds and with each round, the degree of difficulty increasingly pushed the contestants to think and respond faster. The Quizmaster Giri Balasubramaniam a.k.a Pickbrain with his witty style eased off the pressure and the tension in the hall.

Speaking on the occasion Dr. Mashelkar said, “This has been an exhilarating evening, with an amazing display of awareness and alertness by the participants of Tata Crucible. These youngsters have a fantastic lateral thinking and recall power. The 21st century will be the century of knowledge, the century of the mind, the century of these youngsters and hence the century of India.”

In the internal track held for the Tata Group companies, Tata Consultancy Services (TCS), team of Suresh Kumar and Aniruddha Dutta from Mumbai emerged victorious and received the trophy and cash prize of Rs. 4 lakhs. The Runner-up in the internal track was the team from Tata Steel, Jamshedpur, who exhibited true sportsmanship by letting TCS press the buzzer and thereby getting into a challenging tie-breaker round. In the 3 question tie-breaker, Tata Steel fell short of the victory line by one mark.

The two semi-finals of 8 teams each had several moments of brilliant quizzing coupled with healthy competition. The top 4 teams from each semi-final progressed to the National Final. The 8 finalists were Citibank, Vizag Steel (2 teams), Infosys, DLF, Bhilai Steel, ITC and Sun Microsystems.

Vizag Steel set a record in Crucible history by being the first company to have 2 teams in the National Final. The audience at the National Final also took away fabulous prizes such as Fastrack sunglasses, Taj dinner vouchers and a mega-prize of a digital camera.

Following the tremendous response and success of the quiz over the last four years, the Tata Group extended the fifth edition of the Tata Crucible to sixteen cities.

Known for its innovative formats of quizzing in the past years, the Tata Crucible Corporate Quiz was once again presented in a new avatar. Having engaged the nation’s bright young minds for four years now, the Quiz was elevated to a whole new level with the ‘Nano Quizzing’ format. From Bandwidth Quizzing, to Twenty-Twenty Quizzing to Pyramid Quizzing and “Nano quizzing” as the current format, Tata Crucible has consistently produced new formats of quizzing that have kept the audience glued to their seats.

January 21, 2022


Sun Microsystems wins the National Finals of ‘Tata Crucible -The Business Quiz 2008’ Mitesh Agarwal and Vishwajeeth P. Narvekar from Sun Microsystems were awarded the National […]
January 21, 2022


Tata Steel win Jamshedpur tie Jamshedpur, Sep 26, 2008: It was the final destination of the epic 17 city journey of Tata Crucible 2008. But as […]
January 21, 2022


Team Kotak wins regional round of Tata biz quiz Pune, Aug 24, 2008: Team Kotak Mahindra Bank, comprising Ashit Sharma and Samrat Mukherjee, emerged champions at […]
January 21, 2022


IMRB & TCS win Mumbai thriller Mumbai, Sep 20, 2008: Action, comedy, tragedy, suspense and edge of seat entertainment, sounds like a move premiere? Read on! […]
January 21, 2022


Sun shines at Indore Indore, Sep 18, 2008: Sun Microsystems represented by Vishwajit and Mitesh Agarwal registered a convincing win at the Indore final of Tata […]
January 21, 2022


Bhilai Steel triumph at Lucknow Lucknow, Sep 14, 2008: Lucknow witnessed a true dream debut with about 75 teams, as it played host to Tata Crucible […]
January 21, 2022


NTPC & TCS win Delhi tie Delhi, Sep 13, 2008: A packed auditorium with over 400 people witnessed the 2008 corporate edition of Tata Crucible, here […]
January 21, 2022


Mudra clinch Chandigarh thriller Chandigarh, Sep 11, 2008: Tension coupled with brilliance seemed to be the theme for the Chandigarh edition of Tata Crucible 08. After […]
January 21, 2022


Mjunction & Vizag Steel take Kolkata honours Kolkata, Sep 07, 2008: Over a 100 teams on a Sunday evening at Kolkata is a perfect setting for […]