Corporate Quiz Results - TCS win Chennai blockbuster

TCS win Chennai blockbuster

A cloudy Sunday afternoon with typical Chennai humidity was the setting for the city round of Tata Crucible. Quizmaster Pickbrain was at his witty best as he entertained the teams while still moving through a fairly difficult prelim briskly. It set the tone for an afternoon of absorbing quizzing in a city that simply loves this mind sport. The finalists from close to a 100 teams were:


  • Madras Metallurgical: Gopal Kidaoand Shankar
  • : Aditya Kumar and Kiran V
  • TCS: Jayakanthan and Himadri
  • Infosys: Arun Prasad and Vinid Sasidharan
  • The Hindu: Ramakrishnan and Sriram Srinivasan
  • Ford Motors: Prashanth .S and K. Sridharan

The final started in a dramatic fashion with TCS blazing away to a rapid start registering a score of over 300 in the first round of the quiz. Most in the audience and a few teams on stage may have all thought it would be a one sided affair.

However, as the quiz progressed and the format of the quiz factored to allow teams to catch up if they play well, saw the teams from and Madras Metallurgical inching closer to TCS who had been silent for a large measure of the second segment of the quiz.

The final frontier titled ‘Dash to the finish line’, turned out to be quite literally that as all these three teams had an equal chance of the winning the finale. The Ford team which had answered well but coupled it with negatives to lose out, did well in the end to not just salvage their situation but help TCS, in a sense, to breathe easy as their scoring did not affect the victory of TCS.

The duo from Madras Metallurgical came close to dislodging for the runner up slot but the latter held on to earn the honours. Given the turns and twists and the last scene impact, the quiz sure turned out a blockbuster!

The guest of honour, Mr. Raghuvir Srinivasan, Associate Editor, Business Line appreciated the fact that so many people i.e., young corporates, took interest in business and business related information. He congratulated the teams and awarded them the winning cheques.


  • WINNER: TCS – Jayakanthan and Himadri
  • RUNNER UP: – Aditya Kumar and Kiran V